Day 7/365 – Big step

We have been talking about this day for a few months now, but all of a sudden it was here. Lily’s first day at pre-school. I knew deep down that she was going to be absolutely fine, we have been to visit quite a few times before today, and every time she has asked to stay and play and been upset when we had to leave. 

My main concern today though, was how I was going to be! A little part of me, and it really was just a tiny part, wanted her to cry and and not want me to leave. Its totally selfish I know, and I am super cross with myself for feeling that way, but I couldn’t help it! She is my baby, the past three years, just seems to have gone so quick!

She was so thrilled to pack her school bag and get ready and I could tell from the drive over there that she was excited and looking forward to getting there, which in turn just made me feel worse! I know I should be delighted with the confident and strong minded little girl that we have raised, but a little voice rings through ‘she doesn’t like you and she cant wait to get away’, its totally ridiculous – I know, you don’t have to tell me! Seriously!

We arrived and were met by the girls on the reception, and taken through to the pre-school room. There were a few other children starting today, and as we were there about five minutes later than them (due to me taking some photo’s!) it meant that they had had time to totally and utterly work themselves up – my god! When I say there were tears, there were TEARS! Lily took one look at them, and looked at me and said ‘I want to go home’ and it was at that point when all of a sudden I realised she didn’t want to get away, she wasn’t bored with me, and I wasn’t going to let her down now just so I could feel better. So we sat for ten minutes, we played with some blocks, we matched some shapes, and then I bent down, told her I was leaving & would be back at lunch time, gave her a kiss and said goodbye. She gave me a kiss back and waved – bye!

I am so very proud of her.

Lily on her first day at pre-school

 

 

 

 

About joannanoble

Mummy of two, wife of one! Busy housewife for the minute, with football, swimming, basketball, rugby league, dancing and puppy walking all keeping me busy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 7/365 – Big step

  1. Peter D says:

    She doesn’t like you and she cant wait to get away. Just sayin.

Leave a Reply

